Roger Milla

World Cup legend Roger Milla spills the beans on his 1990 heroics, salsa dancing and why you should holiday in Cameroon

Roger Milla

Roger Milla, a fantastic dancer. Photograph: Bongarts/Getty.

Bonjour Roger, how are you?
[Broad smile] Very well, thanks, Small Talk.

In 1990, you shocked the whole world, but did you surprise yourself?
Well, what a lot of people don't know is that I had already performed well at the World Cup in 1982. We didn't lose a match there so I and my team-mates knew we

weren't out of our depth. I felt good physically and we'd prepared properly so we were confident. I'd had a good career and you could say 1990 was my crowning glory.

I think the whole world enjoyed seeing a 38-year-old score four goals at the World Cup finals.

Did your life change dramatically after that?
No, I haven't changed one bit. I'm still the same as I was before then. It's true I'm more widely recognised now and get invited to take part in all sorts of events and

projects but as a person, I haven't changed.

Which of the five African qualifiers will go farthest in Germany?
That's a tough one. It all depends on how they've prepared, what sort of mindset they're in. We'll have a better idea after their first matches.

Some say the likes of Togo and Angola were lucky to qualify and will be so far out of their depth that they'll make a mockery of African football ...
I've heard people say that but I don't believe it. They topped their groups so they're in the World Cup on merit. I'm delighted to be represented by

them and I only ask that they prepare properly and try to do us proud.

Let's move on to the fun stuff. What's the last CD you bought?
I can't remember exactly, but it was probably jazz or salsa. I'm a big salsa fan!

Are you a better salsa dancer than your goal celebrations suggested?
[Uproarious laughter] Of course! I'm a fantastic dancer!

What's your favourite TV show?
I only really watch sport. That's where you see real joy. I don't like watching much else on TV, because it's generally either twisted or sad. You know, whenever they show programmes on Africa, for example, they concentrate on suffering and diseases. It's true that exists in Africa but it exists everywhere else too. I'd like them to show the good side of Africa, the Africa I know.

If Small Talk decided to take a holiday in Cameroon, what would you recommend it goes to see or do?
[Giddily] Firstly, I'd recommend you get your vaccinations! Seriously though, you should go there. You'll get a really warm welcome and you could spend months

sampling all of the wonderful Cameroonian dishes.

That brings us along nicely to the next question: what's your favourite food?
Since I'm from Douala, my favourite dish is n'dolé. I guess you could say it's a sort of Cameroonian spinach.

And your favourite drink?
It's fruit juice all the way for me. I'm not into beer, whiskey or anything like that.

What would you slam into Room 101?
Weapons. [Stands up, adopts solemn glare and raises voice] Weapons, I tell you, I'd get rid of weapons.

What's your earliest memory?
[Reflects] Probably setting out to school for the first time when I was four or five. We Africans place great emphasis on education and

I knew then that I was starting out on my journey to become a man, a proper person.

Finally then, Roger, can you tell us a joke?
[Chuckles] You've put me on the spot there, Small Talk. None come to mind, I'm afraid.

No worries, Roger, thanks for your time. And the memories! Bye.
My pleasure, Small Talk. Bye.

This chat was arranged by Puma, partners of 12 of the 32 teams at the World Cup, including all five African ones. Puma is currently organising a charity collection for United for Africa. If you're in Berlin this summer, check out the United for Africa charity tram, which will travel around the city from May 29 to July 16.

https://files.edsondepary.webnode.com/200002167-79e117adb1/animated_favicon1.gif