Political System of Cameroon

According to the political system of Cameroon, the government is a republic multiparty presidential regime which is structured on the French model. Under this model, power is distributed among the President who is the Head of State, the Prime Minister, the head of government and the Cabinet ministers. Under the political system of Cameroon, the Republic is divided into ten regions which are Amamaoua, Northwest region, East region, Far north region, Littoral, South region, Center region, Southwest region, North region, and West region. All of these administrative regions are supervised by a Governor, who co-ordinates Divisional officers, and subdivision officers.

A meeting by the National Assembly is held on a regular basis at the National capital in Yaounde, where major decisions are taken.

The Executive

The executive power in Cameroon lies with the President, the chief of state who is elected by popular vote for a term of seven years and is eligible for re-elections for a second term. The Government is headed by the Prime Minister who is appointed by the President. Under the executive branch the Cabinet consists of a council of ministers appointed by the President on the recommendations of the Prime Minister.

The current President of Cameroon is Paul Biya and the Prime minister is Ephraim Inoni while the Deputy Prime Minister is Amadou Ali. The next presidential elections will be held by the year 2011.

The Legislative

Under the legislative branch is the Unicameral National Assembly comprising of 180 seats where members are elected by popular vote for a five-year term. It is to be notes that the President has the authority to lengthen or shorten the tern of the legislature.

The last National Assembly elections were held on 23 June, 2002 and the next is due on June 2008.


The judicial system in Cameroon is based on the on French civil law system and consists of the Supreme Court and High Court. Judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President while the High Court judges are appointed by the National Assembly. The High Court consists of 9 judges and 6 substitute judges.

It is to be noted that the judiciary in Cameroon is subordinate to the Ministry of Justice of the Executive branch. The constitutionality of a law can be reviewed by the Supreme Court only on the request of the President.

Major Political Parties of Cameroon

  • Cameroonian Democratic Union
  • Cameroon People's Democratic Movement
  • Movement for the Defense of the Republic
  • Movement for the Liberation and Development of Cameroon
  • Movement for the Youth of Cameroon
  • National Union for Democracy and Progress
  • Social Democratic Front
  • Union of Peoples of Cameroon